Horror, dark fantasy, sci-fi, genre, writing,

The Writer’s Group

As I continue my foray into the social side of writing, I am pleasantly surprised. You see, years ago I attempted to join a local writer’s group, but it was comprised of non-professional hobbiest writers. None came from any writing background or possessed any qualified training. Being that my only training was in the aspects of Technical writing during highschool, it didn’t  bother me at the time. Needless to say, I derived no benefit from the group.

Now, the group I am with contains published authors, some of who actually studied writing in college, and two editors. Most members of the group provide very good impute when critiquing someone’s story. I for one have a uproarious time conversing with my peers. We send jabs back and forth, compliment and insult one another’s work, and learn from each other our chosen craft.

During our last meeting, I learned that I am a far better editor of other’s work than of my own. This is a somewhat common thing. To overcome this, I now need to read through my work as I do other people’s. You see, currently I edit as I go when I do a re-read, making changes as I work my way through a piece; while in contrast, I make notes and mark weak areas in someone else’s story so they can go back and decide on the proper change. That is obviously what I need to do for myself, read the whole piece, making notes as I go, and then after I’ve considered the theme and weak points go through and make changes.

Writer’s group win!

4 responses

  1. Glad you’re finding the group helpful. You really are a good critiquer!

    March 28, 2011 at 10:45 pm

  2. I’ll echo Christine’s comment. Your critiques pick up aspects of writing that most of the rest of us miss, and really add a valuable perspective to the sessions. And it’s good to have you there for the joking around too.

    April 8, 2011 at 8:22 am

  3. Why thank you, to both of you. It is a lot of fun for me also. All of you are teaching me so much about writing.

    April 8, 2011 at 3:18 pm

  4. Pingback: Post Penguicon « K.E. Stewart's Blog

Leave a Reply

